Huge congratulations to FDBA Life Member Gabrielle Hore for receiving her recognition of service award for her services in officiating basketball in at Frankston & District Basketball Association (FDBA) and through out Victoria.

You can see her almost everyday of the week at Frankston Basketball at all levels of competition from Junior Domestic, Senior Domestic, Junior Frankston Blues and Frankston Blues Senior Programs.

Gabrielle was given life membership to the FDBA in 2015.

Basketball Victoria granted her the Gold Star Award for 38 years of service to Basketball.

Below is Basketball Victoria’s statement:


THE Technical Officials Commission held its annual awards day over the weekend, with referees and officials from across the state celebrated for an exceptional 2017 on court.

The highlight of the morning’s awards ceremony was the elevation to TOC Life Membership of Ron Clarke – one of the hardest working people in TOC (formerly VBRA).

Since he started refereeing in 1982, Ron Clarke has worked extensively as a domestic referee and also reached his Level 4 National referee badge, officiated on Junior Panel and then through the state league program as a well know official at the SEABL level. He was also given the opportunity to officiate at the highest level of Basketball in Australia in the National Basketball League.

Throughout it all he has also given back to the community as a MUVJBL and Big V referee coach and he continues to provide coaching for the juniors with his wealth of knowledge on the game. Clarke has also been quite active in serving the administrative side of basketball, serving as an executive member on many committees including the Technical Officials Committee, Grass Roots Committee, VBRA Coburg Referee Committee and the Werribee Referee Committee amongst others.

Clarke officiated at the Australian Junior Championships , the Australian School Championships and also in just about every senior league he could from the NBL, WNBL, SEABL, CVIBL/Big V and VBA over the years.

Following incredible years in officiating with international appointments, Sarah Carey (Nunawading) and Chris Reid (Knox) were celebrated as our Referees of the Year for female and male referees respectively.

Our association awards were won by Werribee (large association), Pakenham (medium association) and Craigieburn (small), to highlight the brilliant work achieved throughout our state at our branches and associations of all shapes and sizes.

TOC celebrated the country referees with Tayla Flint (Bendigo) recognised as Country Referee of the Year for her achievements in gaining elevation to the WNBL panel. She also earned her Level 4 Referee Accreditation on reaching the National League along with Ian Knight (Knox), Andrew Hollowood (Diamond Valley), Mitchell Hare (Eltham) and Elliot Green (Eltham).

Congratulations to all the branches, referees and officials who received awards. It was another impressive year on court throughout 2017 and 2018 is shaping up to be even better.


TOC Life Membership – Ron Clarke

Henry Perazzo Award – Male Referee of the Year: Chris Reid (Knox)

Wally Pattison Award  – Female Referee of the Year: Sarah Carey (Nunawading)

Bob Scott Award – Country Referee of the Year: Tayla Flint (Bendigo)

Paul Whiltshire Award – Senior Panel Male Referee of the Year: Ken Spratt (Kilsyth)

Sharon Arnold Award – Senior Panel Female Referee of the Year: Bianca Dunshore (Nunawading)

Les Dick Award – Under 23 Metro Male Referee of the Year: Patrick Spratt (Kilsyth)

Ron Burgess Award – Under 23 Metro Female Referee of the Year: Brittany Andreola (Kilsyth)

Rod Bush Award – Under 23 Country Male Referee of the Year: Mitchell Bond (Maryborough)

Gail and Jimmy Ralph Award – Under 23 Country Female Referee of the Year: Shannon Jennings (Geelong)

TOC Recognition of Service Award – Stephen Cavanagh (Knox), Gabrielle Hore (Frankston), Shaun Carey (Mill Park)

Neil Bradbury Award – Referee Advisor of the Year: Steven Chadd (Eltham)

Keith Vaughan Award – Referee Branch of the Year – Large: Werribee Branch

Gordon Busby Award – Referee Branch of the Year – Medium: Pakenham Branch

Pat Crowe Award – Referee Branch of the Year – Small: Craigieburn Branch

Kevin Winter Award – Male Domestic Referee of the Year – Senior: Peter Ashley (Mill Park)

Marg Gorman Award – Female Domestic Referee of the Year – Senior: Allison Scholey (Werribee)

Bill and Ray Hunt Award – Male Domestic Referee of the Year – Junior (Under 23): Kash Gaitely (Pakenham)

Lexie Lattanzio Award – Female Domestic Referee of the Year – Junior (Under 23): Hayley Arnott (Knox)

Bill Mildenhall Award – Rookie of the Year: Nicholas Portelli (Altona)

TOC Chairperson’s Award: Cathryn Lowe (Hawthorn)

TOC Level 4 Referee Accreditation (National League) – Ian Knight (Knox), Andrew